Fiction: Science Fiction & Fantasy

See below for the list of 2021 finalists in the FICTION: SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY category, for books with a copyright date of 2020. Register to attend the virtual award ceremony (May 11-14, 2021) to learn which book wins Gold.

Echoes of Darkness: Book Two in the Echoes Trilogy
2021 Finalist

Author: Cheryl Campbell

Publisher: Sonar Press

ISBN: 978-0-9897608-6-7

Click to Purchase


The decades-long conflict with the Wardens, the genocidal faction of alien Echoes that started the war on Earth, rages on. Dani, an Echo, fights alongside humans and other aliens against them. When one Warden makes an attack personal and aimed at Dani, her retaliation becomes focused on rescue and revenge.

2021 Finalist

Author: Mary Elizabeth Ames

Publisher: Koehler Books

ISBN: 978-1-64663-000-4

Click to Purchase


H’Ilgraith could transform at will into a gray fox, a lynx, a badger, and a great horned owl. These species influenced her personality, forging an independent, resourceful, and driven individual. One day, H’Ilgraith confronted a gray mountain wolf who tested her patience and changed her way of life.

Leviathan: Book One of the Antediluvian Legacy
2021 Finalist

Author: R.M. Huffman

Publisher: Brown Books Publishing

ISBN: 978-1-61254-453-3

Click to Purchase


The Earth is cursed, humans scrape meager livings from the soil, and legendary beasts roam the wilderness. When a fearsome leviathan threatens his homelands, Noah must find a way to defeat the monster. Desperate to discover its weakness, he journeys to seek the aid of the half-angel giants called the Nephilim.


See below for the list of 2020 winners in the FICTION: SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY category, for books with a copyright date of 2019.

L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Vol. 35
2020 Gold Winner

Editor: David Farland

Publisher: Galaxy Press

ISBN: 978-1-61986-604-1

Click to Purchase


Internationally acclaimed bestselling anthology of award-winning science fiction and fantasy short stories. 24 Award-Winning Sci-Fi and Fantasy Authors and Illustrators.

Echoes of War: Book One in the Echoes Trilogy
2020 Silver Winner

Editor: Cheryl Campbell

Publisher: SparkPress

ISBN: 978-1-68463-006-6

Click to Purchase


Dani’s life among other refugees on a war-torn Earth is upended when she learns that she is not the human she’s always thought herself to be.

Gardeners of the Universe: A Novel
2020 Silver Winner

Author: Ronald E. Peterson

Publisher: PTB Books

ISBN: 978-0-9997035-1-9

Click to Purchase


Three gifted humans help guide Earth through the most dangerous and consequential time in its history. What do we want humans to become?

About the
Independent Book Publishers Association

Founded to support independent publishers nationwide, the Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA) leads and serves the independent publishing community through advocacy, education, and tools for success. With over 3,200 members, IBPA is the largest independent publishing association in the U.S. Its vision is a world where every independent publisher has the access, knowledge, and tools needed to professionally engage in all aspects of an inclusive publishing industry.


For more information, visit


Quesions? Contact Terry Nathan at or 310-546-1818.

© 2021 by The Independent Book Publishers Association. Proudly created with