top of page

Winners

Humor
seal-silver.png
gold-seal.png

2024 FINALISTS - HUMOR

See below for the list of 2024 finalists in the HUMOR category, for books with a copyright date of 2023.

Bumpy-Rides-and-Soft-Landings.jpg
Bumpy Rides and Soft Landings: Stories of Coming Out, Flying High, and Not Learning to Play the Piano
2024 Finalist

Author: James Pauley, Jr.

Publisher: Take Flight Publishing, LLC

ISBN: 9798986751610

Click to Purchase

 

In Bumpy Rides and Soft Landings, Pauley chronicles his life—both on the ground and in the air—one meaningful adventure after another. In his six decades on earth, he’s witnessed just about everything imaginable. And since his filter recently left the building for good, he’s ready to share it all!

Funny-Moon.jpg
The Funny Moon: A Novel
2024 Finalist

Author: Chris Lincoln

Publisher: Rootstock Publishing

ISBN: 9781578691388

Click to Purchase

 

Claire is a massage therapist who communicates with animals and ghosts. Wally is a burned-out adman and wannabe novelist obsessing on his golf game. After twenty-five years of marriage, Wally moves out and they embrace separate fantasies and new adventures. For fans of Elinor Lipman and Jennifer Weiner, The Funny Moon is a literary romp about the challenges of marriage and middle-aged self-discovery with a New Age twist.

Santa-Anna.jpg
Santa Anna
2024 Finalist

Author: Addison J. Chapple with Rachael Flanery

Publisher: Level 4 Press

ISBN: 9781646300785

Click to Purchase

 

When a neurotic statistics geek gets invited to his twenty-five-year high school reunion, he spends his life savings remaking his identity. Only problem: his new persona gets him mistaken for a drug kingpin and sends him running for his life with the very people who used to make it miserable. 

2023 - HUMOR CATEGORY

During the 35th Annual IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards, none of the entries in the HUMOR category earned the honor of an award.

2022 WINNERS - HUMOR

See below for the list of 2022 winners in the HUMOR category, for books with a copyright date of 2021.

Uncorked-Off-the-Chain.jpg
gold-seal.png
Uncorked & Off the Chain: Offbeat Ramblings of a Zany Comic
2022 Gold Winner

Author: Jameson Gregg

Publisher: Mountain Arbor Press

ISBN: 978-1-63183-930-6

Click to Purchase

 

Uncorked & Off the Chain delivers chops and attitude with zany cutting-edge opinion, observational humor, and tales from the wild side. No topic is off-limits, from sports and edgy tales, to marriage, dogs, and mass consumption of cocktails. Short, snappy free-standing essays for those readers looking for a quick laugh.

Arizona-Water-Bar.jpg
seal-silver.png
The Arizona Water Bar: Tales from the Desert Southwest
2022 Silver Winner

Author: Drew Aquilina

Publisher: Green Pieces Press

ISBN: 978-0-9860580-9-7

Click to Purchase

 

Welcome to the Arizona Water Bar, where Cheers meets National Geographic. Intrepid pack rat Flo Webb refuses to take over the 2000-year-old family midden. Risking the wrath of her proud father, Flo opens a water bar in the vast desert. Follow the ensuing adventures as this small businesswoman humorously engages her wildlife customers, providing an evolutionary step forward for all desert animals. 

Fat-Vinnys-Forbidden-Love.jpg
seal-silver.png
Fat Vinny's Forbidden Love
2022 Silver Winner

Author: David Benjamin

Publisher: Last Kid Books

ISBN: 978-1-7357722-2-6

Click to Purchase

 

Fat Vinny, the most repulsive eighth-grader in the history of Tomah, is in love. He has chosen as the apple of his eye the wrongest girl he could possibly pursue — Sister Patrice! Worse, he has inveigled into his sexual awakening, the only kid on earth whom he can call “friend.”

2021 WINNERS - HUMOR

See below for the list of 2021 winners in the HUMOR category, for books with a copyright date of 2020. Click here to watch the Gold and Silver winner speeches.

Alexander-Botts-and-the-Earthworm.jpg
gold-seal.png
Alexander Botts and the Earthworm Tractor: Botts Begins
2021 Gold Winner

Author: William Hazlett Upson

Publisher: Octane Press

ISBN: 978-1-64234-025-9

Click to Purchase

 

Alexander Botts and the Earthworm Tractor is a collection of humorous stories about a bumbling salesman’s trials and tribulations selling crawler tractors. Botts was created in 1927 and was beloved by The Saturday Evening Post readers in more than 100 short stories. Botts Begins is the first book in a series that will charm readers young and old and entertain with innocent mayhem, timeless humor, and twists of fate.

Man-Who-Would-Be-King.jpg
seal-silver.png
The Man Who Would Be King
2021 Silver Winner

Authors: Addison J. Chapple and Vincent Longobardi

Publisher: Level 4 Press

ISBN: 978-1-933769-72-1

Click to Purchase

 

Best friends Jam and Jim are lovable idiots. When a call from Somali grifters puts dollar signs in Jam’s eyes, they hatch a scheme to get rich. These dim-witted dreamers somehow outwit pirates and convince the locals that they are Navy SEALS—until Faarax, leader of the pirates, wants payback.

Meat-Potatoes-of-Life.jpg
seal-silver.png
The Meat and Potatoes of Life: My True Lit Com
2021 Silver Winner

Author: Lisa Smith Molinari

Publisher: Elva Resa Publishing

ISBN: 978-1-934617-54-0

Click to Purchase

 

“…hilariously honest, beautifully engaging and vividly written memoir of her life as a military spouse, the mother of fabulously eccentric and demanding children...”
“… capturing…motherhood with candor, humor, and grace...”
“…a wonderful look inside the kind of family we all want to invite home to dinner...”
“…pure Erma Bombeck.” 

2020 WINNERS - HUMOR

See below for the list of 2020 winners in the HUMOR category, for books with a copyright date of 2019.

To Squeeze a Prairie Dog.jpg
gold-seal.png
To Squeeze a Prairie Dog: An American Novel
2020 Gold Winner

Author: Scott Semegran

Publisher: Mutt Press

ISBN: 978-1-7238668-9-0

Click to Purchase

 

A comic sendup of state government—an entertaining slice-of-life story that's both humorous and uplifting—about five under-appreciated bureaucrats who forge a bond of love and respect.  

Abi Gezunt.jpg
seal-silver.png
Abi Gezunt! Classic Jewish Jokes (Vol. 2)
2020 Silver Winner

Editor: Arnold Fine

Publisher: Jewish Learning Group

ISBN: 978-1-891293-03-0

Click to Purchase

 

The laughter will never stop with this once-in-a-lifetime collection of hundreds of side-splitting family-friendly classic Jewish jokes. Get both volumes today and Kvell!

Sit Stay Pray.jpg
seal-silver.png
Sit Stay Pray: Lina Speaks Again About Her Life with a Difficult Momma
2020 Silver Winner

Author: Little Big Ears (aka Lina)

Publisher: Beaver's Pond Press

ISBN: 978-1-64343-909-9

Click to Purchase

 

Another hilarious romp through Lina’s topsy-turvy life with her ditzy but well-meaning momma that’s sure to tickle your funny bone!

2020-humor
2021-humor
2022-humor
2023-humor
IBPA-Logo.png
About the
Independent Book Publishers Association

Founded to support independent publishers nationwide, the Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA) leads and serves the independent publishing community through advocacy, education, and tools for success. With over 3,200 members, IBPA is the largest independent publishing association in the U.S. Its vision is a world where every independent publisher has the access, knowledge, and tools needed to professionally engage in all aspects of an inclusive publishing industry.

 

For more information, visit www.ibpa-online.org.

bottom of page